Pangasinan, 4 cities, 28 towns receive Seal


LINGAYEN– The Espino provincial administration acknowledged the accolade extended by the Department of the Interior and Local Government when it was cited as a recipient of the Seal of Good Local Governance award.

Gov. Amado I. Espino, III received the Seal of Good Local Governance award for his government’s performance during the National Awarding Ceremony for North Luzon cluster at the Manila Hotel on November 27.

It was the second citation for the Espino administration under the watch of the young governor who sustained the tradition of excellence in good governance set by his predecessor, former governor and now Fifth District Representative Amado T. Espino, Jr.

The Espino administration in Pangasinan was one of only 28 provincial governments cited in the country.

Aside from LGU-Pangasinan, the DILG also presented SGLG awards to all the four cities of Pangasinan and 28 towns in the province.

The awardees from Pangasinan are: Alaminos City, San Carlos City, Urdaneta City, Dagupan City, Aguilar, Alcala, Asingan, Balungao, Bautista, Bayambang, Binalonan, Bolinao, Bugallon, Burgos, Calasiao, Dasol, Infanta, Laoac, Lingayen, Malasiqui, Manaoag, Mangaldan, Mangatarem, Rosales, San Fabian, San Manuel, San Nicolas, Sta. Barbara, Tayug, Umingan, Urbiztondo and Villasis.

The SGLG 2017 list shows Pangasinan has the most number of towns and cities that received the Seal.

The Seal was presented by Political Adviser, Secretary Francis N. Tolentino, incoming DILG Secretary Eduardo Ano and DILG officer-in-charge Usec. Catalino Cuy.

Tolentino said that the SGLG awardees are the “best leaders in Northern Luzon”, even as he urged the local government executives in attendance to practice “servant leadership.”

In his welcome remarks, Usec. Cuy, a former SAF commander, said SGLG awardees are the cream of the crop among local government units that “went through the eye of the needle” to earn the Seal.

Out of 81 provinces, 145 cities and 1,488 municipalities, only 448 local government units were cited this year for the award. (PIO)